Preserved Salted Japanese Lemon

lemon

Made a new bottle of preserved salted lemon !!

Since January this year, I made nearly 10 bottles of preserved lemon but sharing with friends and use a lot for my dishes by then. My family found organic lemon in the small island in the Seto Inland Sea last week and gave me some locally grown Japanese lemon from there.

Ingredients:

Unwaxed fresh lemon

Natural Salt (10% of Lemon weight)

Dried Red Chili (option)

Coriander seeds (option)

Instructions:

Wash lemon well with salt and take water using paper towel.

Cut into small pieces and put in the glass jar with salt.

Add other ingredients and keep in the fridge.

You can also add some juice the fresh lemon and add into the jar.

Turn the jar upside down once a day or two days.

After one month, lemon becomes soft and transparent lemon juice will be yellowish white color and getting thicker.

I normally use preserved salted lemon when I cook chicken meat with fresh rosemary. Also add one spoon of salted lemon paste when I steam couscous etc… Enjoy refreshing aroma for your favorite dish!

Copyright (C) ASIAN FOODIE 2015

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ah, beautiful! And as coincidence would have it, I am at this minute preparing a post on preserved lemon too πŸ™‚

    1. Asian Foodie says:

      Nice! I will check your post too!

  2. Cool, I’d love to try this recipe this summer. I made two jars of Preserved Sweetened Dracontomelon last week πŸ™‚

    1. Asian Foodie says:

      Sounds nice! Thanks for your comments πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

