UMEBOSHI PROJECT – DAY 58

umeboshi

Today was a big day for my project!  I took all plums, shiso leaves from the bottle and put on the bamboo basket to dry under the sun. (Outside temp was nearly 35c !) According to the book, the reason of this step means …. enhance preservative effect,  make the plum softer, enrich fullness etc…  I put everything back to the bottle in late afternoon since I prefer softer ones but have heard some people like to keep plum with shiso and vinegar separately. After this step, I can eat this Umeboshi finally. Yey!  Try to use this Umebohsi and cook something ! FYI – Bigger plums on the bamboo basket are not current year’s umeboshi. I made them three years ago and tried to do the same step together this time.

Copyright (C) Asian Foodie

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve been meaning to try Umeboshi’s for ages, they sell them in a Japanese shop near my place… 🙂 Seems so intriguing..!

    1. Asian Foodie says:

      Oh really 🙂 I guess the sourness has been changed more milder than the young one. We mix umeboshi/dried bonito and a little bit of shoyu for rice ball, ume-dressing for salad. Very refreshing flavor.It’s different from green shiso leaf dressing but both are lovely.

  2. elle says:

    Looks great! I love umeboshi! Especially when it’s homemade 😀

    1. Asian Foodie says:

      Thanks, Elle!. Yes, I like homemade too since I can check all the ingredients and simply it’s fun for me to make food at home 😉

Leave a Reply

