“Hundred Delicacies of Tofu” Project (2)

The second dish of this project(*) is “Ozasa Tofu”. Drain the Tofu and fried both side. Then boil dashi, shoyu and mirin in the pot for a while. Tear the tofu in four or five pieces by hand and put them in the pot. Boil until Tofu will absorb the flavor (at least five minutes) then pour the beaten egg over the cooked tofu before turn off the heat. Sprinkle sansho pepper over the tofu and enjoy!

The taste is something like Oyako-Don (chicken, onion and same dashi) or Katsu-Don(pork cutlet, onion and same dashi) but tofu is more healthy. This is very simple dish but liked it so much!

There is no specific amount of seasoning on the book (just ingredients and seasoning) so I tried following recipe.

Tofu : 300-350g / Dashi Stock 250cc / Shoyu 1 tbsp / Mirin 1tbsp / 2 beaten eggs/ Sansho pepper (option)

* Background / About “Hundred Delicacies of Tofu” – it’s originally published in 1782 and very popular among the people then. I found the book which was out almost ten years ago based on the original recipe and I was interested in the simple but unique tofu dishes. I try to cook based on the recipe but I may add some own twist if I have any idea. 😉 This is the story why I started the project and hope you all will like my journey together!

8 Comments Add yours

    1. Asian Foodie says:

      Thanks ! Very simple dish but I believe there were not many seasoning in 18c when the original book was published. It’s really fun to try the dish from the book and imagine how people enjoyed such a simple food, tofu using limited seasoning with various cooking approach!
      Anyway, thanks for your comment! Really encouraging for me ! 🤗

      1. I feel the same way about very old cookbooks, food is an amazing way of visiting the past…look forward to your next post

  1. dosirakbento says:

    Could you include some quantities for the recipe? Would love to try it out as am looking for new tofu dishes and this looks delicious?

    1. Asian Foodie says:

      Hi! Thanks for asking 😊 Actually there is no specific amount of each seasoning in the book so I adjusted amount. But I revised my post for you! Hope you will enjoy my recipe 🤗💕 – Ellie

      1. dosirakbento says:

        Thank you so much! I am going to try out soon 😊

Leave a Reply

