Hiratake Mushroom

There are many types of mushroom in Japan. A friend of mine gave me this beautiful Hiratake last night and I cooked some dishes as the pic.

We can find Shiitake and Maitake at the tempura restaurant quite often and the price at the market is quite reasonable.

If you like the texture of each Mushroom, I recommend to cook as tempura. Since it’s juicy and taste it’s own flavor. Umami of hiratake must be less than Shiitake but Hiratake doesn’t have any strong smell so it must be easier to cook with other ingredients, I believe.

I heard Hiratake is called as Oyster Mushroom in some countries. My Hiratake doesn’t look like oyster but it’s always fun to know these trivia about food and learn how the same ingredients are cooked in different ways and in various countries. It’s a kind of food trip in the kitchen. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope I will find those unique stories from you all!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Yes we call it Oyster mushroom and I love it, it goes so weel with rice or pasta, or even in a soup ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Asian Foodie says:

      Thanks for your comment ! I wanna try pasta ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜Š

Leave a Reply

